This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


Node Pic

Purling Hiss

Free Download: Daytrotter Session - Purling Hiss

Yesterday, a new polished track, "Mercury Retrograde," surfaced from Purling Hiss' forthcoming album Water on Mars (Drag City). We thought that we might have to wait for their show on Apil 5 at Johnny Brenda's to hear how some of the latest material might sound live. Luckily, Daytrotter just released their session with the Hiss so our wait is already over. And yes, we're glad to hear Mike Polizze's guitar sounding as sleazy and raunchy as ever! You can download the session for free (with a membership or free trial membership) HERE. Enjoy! (Illustration by Johnnie Cluney)

Node Pic

New Track: "Mercury Retrograde" - Purling Hiss

Purling Hiss just shared a new track from their upcoming album Water on Mars called "Mercury Retrogade," which you'll soon discover is a more polished recording than your used to from the former scuzz rockers. Sounds like their time spent in a professional studio at Miner Street for their Shaking Through session had an influence on this new record that will be out March 19 via Drag City. You can catch them on April 5 at Johnny Brenda's where you'll most likely get to hear how some of the new songs sound live.


Purling Hiss & Nightlands Featured in Spin's "5 Best New Artists for January '13"

So it looks like Spin is starting to discover how rad Philly's music scene is (which we've all obviously known for a while now). The music publication just featured Purling Hiss and Nightlands in their post about "5 Best New Artists for January '13." While most of our readers are probably thinking "they're not really new," it's still nice to be mentioned. After all, you should always understand that you need to give the old guys some time to catch up. You can check out the blurbs about our hometown heroes HERE.


Purling Hiss Announce Details About New Album

Purling Hiss just announced that their new album titled Water On Mars will be released on March 19, 2013 via Drag City. Since the Hiss' first three albums and EP were constructed at Mike Polizze's "inner rock utopia," this record will mark the first studio offering with bandmates Kiel Everett and Mike Sneeringer. Water On Mars was produced by Jeff Zeigler (Uniform Recordings) and Adam Granduciel (The War on Drugs). You can check out the album's track listing below.

Water On Mars Track Listing:
1. Lolita
2. Mercury Retrograde
3. Rat Race
4. Dead Again
5. She Calms Me Down
6. Face Down
7. The Harrowing Wind
8. Water on Mars
9. Mary Bumble Bee

Node Pic

Purling Hiss Corrupting Minds at JB’s Nov. 15

It should be no surprise that I’m looking forward to Purling Hiss headlining Johnny Brenda’s tonight. The ear-bleeding, carefree trash rock of the power trio is certainly something that you want to experience live. And while catching them on bills supporting notable acts like Wilco, Dinosaur Jr. and Mission of Burma might be a tasty appetizer, it’s still no replacement for a full meal of gut-busting, sleazy rock ‘n’ roll that would scare the shit out of those red-state, flag-waving wannabe successors. Yeah, it’s music that will corrupt young minds with combustible guitar solos that will light their joints, and that’s just the way I like it! Look out for a new Hiss album scheduled for release this spring via Drag City. Johnny Brenda’s, 1201 N. Frankford Ave., 9pm, $10, 21+ - Alexis V.


- news for musician and music pros -